AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Cannabis allergy

Cannabis is a plant of the family Cannabaecae, originally from central Asia and cultivated in all regions of the world. Cannabis refers to preparations derived from Cannabis sativa indica (Indian hemp); marijuana corresponds to dried flowers of the female plant and contains up to 25% THC (tetrahydrocannabinol, the chemical product responsible for the majority of psychoactive effects) and hashish is a preparation of resin from the plant with a THC content of from 10% to 30%.

Cannabis has been used for recreational purposes for many decades, and for a few years for its medicinal value. An allergy to cannabis has been known for many years, first described in 1971, and is increasing in frequency. Allergic reactions may occur from inhalation, ingestion, skin contact with the cannabis plant or through intravenous injection.


Cannabis in production
Cannabis in production

A cofactor can increase the severity of the allergic reaction from any allergen (food, medication, insect venom) and there is no reason to think this would be different with cannabis: cofactors include alcohol, the use of NSAIDS, exercise in the hours preceding exposition, and the premenstrual period.

Reactions occur most commonly after direct exposure, but they have also been reported after passive exposure. More than 80% of patients allergic to cannabis have a sensitization to pollens, particularly to birch tree pollen, and to several fruits and vegetables.

Sensitization to cannabis usually occurs after direct contact (smoking, handling, or ingesting cannabis). Passive sensitization (breathing in the smoke of others) has also been described, recently in a 5 year-old child.

 

Clinical presentation

A young woman presented for evaluation of an anaphylactic reaction occurring the month prior. Towards 19h00 she began to have difficulty breathing, itching everywhere, with a feeling of choking; all within several minutes: 911 was called, the ambulance arrived and 2 doses of epinephrine were given during transport; arriving at the hospital at 20h00 she felt much better; she had improved after the first dose of epinephrine; she was observed for 6 hours without relapse, and discharged home.

For about 18 months, if she touched cannabis she would have the appearance of hives on her hands for 2 minutes, which disappeared about 1 hour after washing her hands: she smoked it without difficulty and she continued to smoke it without touching it; sometimes her lip would swell if small non-burnt pieces fell into her mouth. Her friend had rolled a joint between his fingers without smoking it, he touched and kissed the patient for several minutes before her anaphylaxis.

A percutaneous skin test with a leaf of cannabis was significantly positive at 15 mm.

The patient described above presented with contact urticaria, an oral allergy syndrome, and lastly, anaphylaxis. She also tested positive to cat, birch tree, ragweed and dust mites, suggesting the eventual development of allergic rhinitis to these additional allergens.

 

A cannabis allergy is often associated with other allergies through cross-reactions to the principal allergen, LTP (lipid transfer protein) that is found in several vegetables. There are also other allergenic molecules in the cannabis plant.

European authors have coined the term to describe this cross reaction as the "cannabis-fruit and vegetable syndrome", which describes the observation that people allergic to cannabis often subsequently develop an allergy to fruits and vegetables. LTP, which is found in certain fruits, vegetables, legumes, other plants and grains, is responsible for sometimes severe food allergies. This type of allergy is more frequent in southern Europe. This protein of vegetable origin is a powerful allergen. It is resistant to heat and to digestive enzymes, which explains its toxicity. The principal fruits and vegetables associated with this cross reaction are: kiwi, bananas, peaches, apples, cherries, peanuts, certain nuts, potatoes, tomatoes and occasional citrus fruits, certain grains, certain alcoholic drinks (beer and wine) and latex. Additional cross reactions have also been seen with hemp (hemp seed) and tobacco.

Diagnostic tests

It is possible to perform percutaneous prick tests using a part of the plant (flower, stem, leaf or extracts): however these tests have not been standardized and false positive and false negatives are both possible. Tests for specific antibodies (specific IgE) are not yet commercially available. Tests incorporating basophil activation could be useful but are not available commercially. With the legalization of marijuana, it is conceivable that provocation tests or challenges become possible clinically.

Treatment

Primary prevention, that is to say, avoiding exposure to cannabis, will prevent sensitization.

Once allergic, all forms of exposure should be avoided, and an epinephrine autoinjector should be carried in case of a systemic reaction after accidental exposure. One should also avoid those foods to which one has become allergic through cross reactions.

__________________________

André Caron, MD FRCPC, allergologue et immunologue
(translation: Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

(publié 08/2019)

In detail

 

An allergie to cannabis
can present as follows:

  1. a respiratory allergy
    - rhinoconjunctivitis and asthma
  2. a skin allergy
    - contact urticaria, eczema
  3. a food or GI allergy
    - oral allergy, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea
  4. urticaria and angioedema
  5. anaphylaxis

 

Is cannabis safe to use?
The facts:

  1. youth aged 13-17
  2. young adults aged 18-25

Canadian Public Health Association

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Allergie au cannabis

Le cannabis est une plante de la famille des Cannabaecae, originaire d’Asie centrale et cultivée dans toutes les régions du monde. Le cannabis désigne les préparations dérivées du Cannabis sativa indica (chanvre indien); la marijuana correspond aux fleurs séchées de la plante femelle et renferme jusqu’à 25 % de THC (tétrahydrocannabinol, le produit chimique responsable de la plupart des effets psychoactifs) et le haschich est une préparation de résine de la plante dont le contenu en THC avoisine les 10% à 30%.

Le cannabis est consommé dans un but récréatif depuis plusieurs décennies, et depuis seulement quelques années comme plante médicinale. L’allergie au cannabis a été rapportée depuis plusieurs années, la première description remontant à 1971, et elle augmente en fréquence progressivement. La réaction peut apparaître suite à l’inhalation, l’ingestion, un contact cutané avec la plante de cannabis, ou l’injection intra-veineuse.


Le cannabis en production
Le cannabis en production

Un cofacteur peut favoriser la sévérité d’une réaction allergique suite à l’exposition à un allergène (aliment, médicament, venim d’insecte), et il n’y a pas de raison de croire qu’il en sera différent avec le cannabis : les cofacteurs connus sont l’alcool, la prise d’AINS, l’exercice dans les heures précédant l’exposition, et la période prémenstruelle.

Les réactions surviennent le plus souvent suite à une exposition directe, mais ont aussi été rapportées suite à une exposition passive. Plus de 80% des patients allergiques au cannabis ont une sensibilisation aux pollens, particulièrement au bouleau, et à plusieurs fruits et légumes.

La sensibilisation au cannabis se fait en général suite à un contact direct (en fumant, en manipulant ou en ingérant du cannabis). La sensibilisation passive (en respirant la fumée des autres) a aussi été décrite, dont récemment chez un jeune enfant de 5 ans.

 

Présentation clinique

Une jeune femme se présente pour évaluation d’une réaction anaphylactique survenue le mois dernier. Vers 19h00, elle a une difficulté respiratoire, ça pique partout, et ça passe mal dans sa gorge, elle étouffe; ça apparait en quelques minutes: 911 appelé, l’ambulance arrive et 2 doses d'épinéphrine sont donnés durant le transport; rendue à l'urgence vers 20h00, elle va nettement mieux; elle a été aidée dès la première dose d'épinéphrine; elle est observée pendant 6 heures sans récidive et a son congé.

Depuis environ 18 mois, si elle touchait au cannabis, une urticaire apparaissait aux mains en 2 minutes, et ça partait en 1 heure environ après s’être lavé les mains: elle en fumait avant sans trouble; depuis elle en fume encore sans y toucher directement, et parfois sa lèvre peut enfler si des morceaux non brûlés tombent dans sa bouche. Son ami avait roulé du cannabis entre ses doigts sans en fumer, il a touché et embrassé la patiente quelques minutes avant le début de son anaphylaxie.

Un test cutané en prick avec une feuille de cannabis est revenu très positif à 15 mm.

La patiente ci-haut a présenté de l’urticaire de contact, un syndrome oral et dernièrement, une anaphylaxie. Elle avait aussi des tests positifs au chat, bouleau, herbe à poux et acariens, laissant présager le développement éventuel d’une rhinite allergique à ces allergènes.

 

L’allergie au cannabis est souvent associée à d’autres allergies via des réactions croisées à l’allergène principal, la LTP (lipid transfert protein), qui se retrouve dans plusieurs végétaux comestibles. Il existe aussi d’autres molécules allergéniques dans la plante de cannabis.

Des auteurs européens ont baptisé cette réaction croisée le “syndrome cannabis-fruits et légumes”, qui se traduit concrètement par le fait que des personnes allergiques au cannabis développent par la suite une allergie aux fruits et légumes. La LTP que l’on retrouve dans certains fruits, légumes, plantes et graines, est responsable d’allergies alimentaires souvent sévères. Ce type d’allergie est plus fréquent dans le sud de l’Europe. Cette protéine d’origine végétale est un allergène puissant. Elle résiste à la chaleur et aux enzymes digestives, ce qui explique sa grande toxicité. Les principaux végétaux associés à cette réaction croisée sont : kiwi, banane, pêche, pomme, cerise, arachide, certaines noix, pomme de terre, tomate, et parfois certains agrumes, certaines céréales, certaines boissons alcoolisées (bière et vin) et le latex. On a aussi observé des réactions croisées avec le chanvre (hemp seed) et le tabac.

Tests diagnostiques

On peut effectuer des tests cutanés en prick, effectués avec une partie de la plante (fleur, tige, feuille ou extraits) : cependant ces tests ne sont pas standardisés et on s’expose à de faux positifs et de faux négatifs. Les dosages d’anticorps spécifiques (IgE spécifiques) ne sont pas encore disponibles commercialement. Des tests d’histamino-libération et d’activation des basophiles peuvent être utiles mais ne sont pas encore disponibles commercialement. Avec la légalisation de la marihuana, et est envisageable qu’un test de provocation contrôlé devienne possible.

Traitement

Le traitement préventif, c’est-à-dire ne pas s’exposer au cannabis, permettra d'éviter la sensibilisation.

Une fois devenu allergique, ne pas s’y exposer sous quelque forme que ce soit, et être équipé d’un autoinjecteur d'épinéphrine au cas de réaction systémique lors d’une exposition accidentelle, demeurent les meilleurs traitements. Il faut aussi éviter les aliments auxquels on est devenu allergique via une réaction croisée.

__________________________

André Caron, MD FRCPC, allergologue et immunologue

(publié 08/2019)

En détail

 

L’allergie au cannabis peut
se présenter sous la forme:

  1. d’allergie respiratoire
    - rhino-conjonctivite et asthme
  2. d’allergie cutanée
    - urticaire de contact, eczéma
  3. d’allergie alimentaire et digestive
    - syndrome oral, nausées, vomissements, diarrhées
  4. d’urticaire et angioedème
  5. d’anaphylaxie

 

La consommation de cannabis
est-elle sécuritaire? Les faits:

  1. les jeunes de 13 à 17 ans
  2. les jeunes adultes de 18 à 25 ans

L’Association canadienne de santé publique