AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Urticaria and angioedema

One person in 5 will suffer from these conditions over the course of their lifetime, and often in a variable fashion. Sometimes it is because of a true allergic reaction, triggered by a food, a medication, an insect sting, exposure to a chemical product, or another sensitizer such as latex.

However, most commonly, urticaria is not allergic in nature. Consequently, it should be no surprise that the allergist will frequently not suggest allergy skin tests.


Definition

Urticaria is a disease characterized by the development of raised welts or hives, angioedema (swelling) or both at once. Hives or urticaria are localized itchy and swollen plaques of variable size; lesions are fleeting, last less than 24 hours in the same spot, and don't leave a trace. When the swelling involves deeper tissues, we speak of "angioedema".

urticaire
Urticaria

This should be differentiated from other conditions since raised plaques, angioedema, or both can sometimes be symptoms of other diseases.


Classification of urticaria and angioedema

  • Urticaria and angioedema

    • Acute (lasting less than 6 weeks)

      • Allergic (food, medication, insect, contact)
      • Infectious (viral, bacterial, parasitic)
      • Idiopathic (no cause identified : many cases are likely viral in origin)

    • Chronic (lasting more than 6 weeks)

      • Spontaneous : 90%
        • Auto-immune 40%
        • Idiopathic (of unknown cause) 50%

      • Inducible : 10%
        • Physical urticarias
          • dermographism
          • from cold, from heat
          • from the sun
          • from delayed pressure
          • vibratory
          • aquagenic
        • Other types of urticaria
          • cholinergic
          • triggered by physical exertion

  • Conditions that may involve urticaria

    • Anaphylaxis
    • Mastocytosis
    • Systemic inflammatory diseases

  • Angioedema mediated by bradykinin (without urticaria)

Clinical presentation of different forms of urticaria

Acute urticaria is the most frequent form of urticaria. A food allergy or an insect sting, or a reaction to an NSAID (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medication) can lead to an acute form, lasting several hours to a day, and sometimes associated with symptoms other than on the skin such as rhinitis and/or asthma, digestive trouble (nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, cramps), a fall in blood pressure or convulsions: this is known as anaphylaxis. When it lasts longer, we think of medication allergy or an urticaria associated with a viremia. Frequently, no evidence of a trigger can be found.

dermographism
Dermographism

Chronic spontaneous urticaria is an urticaria that lasts more than six weeks. The intensity of the lesions, their frequency and the degree of itching is very variable from one patient to another, and can fluctuate in the same patient. About 40% of these cases are attributable to an auto-immune phenomenon, and 50% are unexplained to date. The long term evolution is also very variable from one patient to another, lasting several months to several years, often with intervening periods of limited disease activity.

Inducible urticaria (representing approximately 10% of chronic spontaneous urticaria) can be triggered by a physical stimulus, such as local pressure (dermographism and delayed-pressure urticaria), cold, heat, the sun, vibration, and water. There are other forms of inducible urticaria: cholinergic urticaria, which is triggered by heat, emotion, exercise and finally a form of urticaria uniquely triggered by physical exercise alone, or exercise in association with another contributing factor (a food, a medication).


Different conditions that may involve urticaria

Anaphylaxis is a severe form of hypersensibility and is very often associated with urticaria and angioedema. Urticaria in an anaphylactic reaction is acute, developing rapidly following exposure to a potential trigger.

Mastocytosis is a disease of mastocytes, the cells responsible for urticaria and angioedema.

Systemic inflammatory diseases (auto-immune, such as lupus, vasculitis, and auto-inflammatory) are associated with other manifestations such as arthritis, photosensbility, Raynaud's syndrome and organ specific disease (kidneys, liver, lungs...).


Angioedema mediated by bradykinin (without urticaria)

angioedema
Angioedema

Finally there are forms of angioedema without urticaria, mediated by bradykinin, and not histamine, that usually appear slowly (over several hours), that evolve over several days, and which can affect the digestive tract; they don't usually respond to treatments usually given for urticaria mediated by histamine, such as antihistamines (anti-H1), steroids, or even adrenaline given to treat laryngeal edema.

They are often secondary to certain medications, such as ACE inhibitors (angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitors), ARB's (angiotensin receptor blockers), or to alteplase (utilized in thrombolysis).

Less frequently, they are due to a deficit in a factor of complement, the C1 esterase inhibitor, a deficit that may be genetic or acquired; there are also rare cases of hereditary forms not linked to a deficit in C1 esterase inhibitor. All of these forms of angioedema are made worse by estrogens (oral contraceptives, menopausal hormones) that should be avoided. These forms of angioedema are better diagnosed and managed by a specialist in allergy and immunology.


Treatment of urticaria


Acute urticaria

The primary treatment in acute urticaria is to avoid the trigger, if it is known to be an acute allergic or inducible urticaria. In the case of laryngo-pharyngeal angioedema, adrenaline (epinephrine) can be used. Otherwise, second generation antihistamines (non-sedating anti-H1) taken as needed or regularly are the first line pharmacological treatments; if control is not adequate one can increase the dose up to 4 times the recommended dose. Occasionally corticosteroids can be used for short periods.

It is recommended to avoid first-generation antihistamines (anti-H1, diphenhydramine, hydroxyzine, chlorpheniramine, periactin) because of their side effeects such as somnolence (impaired faculties), changes in memorey, dry mucous membranes, and an increased appetite.

Chronic spontaneous urticaria

Here also non-sedating antihistamines taken as needed or regularly are the first step in pharmacological treatment; if control isn't adequate the dose can be increased 4 times above the usual. The majority of patients will respond favourably to these treatments.

One tries as much as possible to avoid treatment with corticosteroids because of numerous side effects. The addition of montelukast can sometimes help control urticaria that has been difficult to treat on high doses of antihistamines.

If there is little success with these treatments, then a more specialized treatment approach may be necessary, with the addition of omalizumab (a biologic agent), which is often successful in cases of refractory urticaria. Finally, if necessary, immunosuppressants can be used, such as cyclosporine in particular, or others.

Inducible urticaria

It is necessary to identify the stimulus and avoid it; antihistamines can also offer a level of protection in cases of continual exposure to the trigger in question.

Other forms of urticaria and angioedema

These must be distinguished from other forms of acute and chronic spontaneous urticaria, in order to treat them correctly. Their treatment varies depending on the disease in question.


__________________________

André Caron, MD FRCPC, allergologue et immunologue

translation: Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC

revised 1/4/2018
This is an update of the previous version written by Dr Guérin Dorval and Dr John Weisnagel (photos urticaria/dermographism).

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Urticaire et angioedème

Une personne sur 5 en souffre au cours de sa vie et ce pendant des périodes variables. Parfois, il s’agit d’une réaction allergique véritable provoquée par un aliment, un médicament, une piqûre d'insecte, un produit chimique ou un autre agent sensibilisant comme le latex.

Cependant, le plus souvent, l'urticaire n'est pas de nature allergique. Par conséquent, il ne faudra pas être surpris si l'allergologue ne propose pas de tests cutanés d'allergie.


Définition

L’urticaire est une maladie caractérisée par le développement de plaques ortiées, d’angioedème (l'enflure) ou des deux à la fois. Les plaques ortiées sont des "enflures" prurigineuses (démangeaisons) de diverses grandeurs ; les lésions sont fugaces, durent moins de 24 heures au même endroit, et ne laissent pas de traces. Lorsque l'enflure atteint les tissus plus profonds, on parle d’"angioedème".

Elle doit être différenciée des autres conditions où des plaques ortiées, de l’angioedème ou les deux peuvent survenir comme symptôme d’une autre condition.


urticaire
L'urticaire

Classification des urticaires et angioedèmes

  • Urticaire et angioedème

    • Aigue (qui dure moins de 6 semaines)

      • Allergique (aliment, médicament, insecte, de contact)
      • Infectieuse (virus, bactérie, parasite)
      • Idiopathique (pas de cause identifiée : plusieurs cas seraient d’étiologie virale)

    • Chronique (qui dure plus de 6 semaines)

      • Spontanée : 90%
        • Auto-immune 40%
        • Idiopathique (de cause inconnue) 50%

      • Inductible : 10%
        • Urticaires physiques
          • dermographisme
          • au froid, au chaud
          • au soleil
          • tardif à la pression
          • vibratoire
          • aquagénique
        • Autres types d’urticaire
          • cholinergique
          • déclenchée par l’exercice physique

  • Conditions où on peut noter de l'urticaire

    • Anaphylaxie
    • Mastocytose
    • Maladies inflammatoires systémiques

  • Angioedème médié par la bradykinine (sans urticaire)

Présentation clinique de ces différentes formes d'urticaire

L’urticaire aigue est la forme la plus fréquente d’urticaire. Une allergie alimentaire ou à une piqûre d’insecte, ou une réaction à un AINS (anti-inflammatoire non-stéroïdien) peut donner une forme aigue, durant de quelques heures à une journée, et parfois associée à des symptômes autres que cutanés, telle de la rhinite et/ou de l’asthme, des troubles digestifs (nausées, vomissements, diarrhées, crampes), une chute de pression artérielle ou des convulsions : on parle alors d’anaphylaxie. Quand ça dure plus longtemps, on pense alors à une allergie médicamenteuse ou à une urticaire associée à une virémie. Souvent on ne peut mettre en évidence un déclencheur.

dermographism
Le dermographisme

L’urticaire chronique spontanée est une urticaire qui dure plus de six semaines. L’intensité des lésions, leur fréquence et le degré de prurit est très variable d’un patient à l’autre, et peut fluctuer chez un même patient. Environ 40% des cas sont attribuable à un phénomène auto-immun, et 50% sont inexpliqués à date. L’évolution à long terme est aussi très variable d’un patient à l’autre, pouvant durer de quelques mois à plusieurs années, et être entrecoupée de périodes d’accalmie de durée variable.

L’urticaire inductible (représentant environ 10% des urticaires chroniques spontanées) peut être déclenchée par un phénomène physique, tel une pression locale (dermographisme et urticaire tardif à la pression), le froid, la chaleur, le soleil, la vibration et l’eau. Il existe aussi des formes particulières d’urticaire inductible : l’urticaire cholinergique qui est déclenché par la chaleur, l’émotion, l’exercice, et enfin une forme d’urticaire déclenchée uniquement par l’exercice seul ou associé à un autre facteur contributif (un aliment, un médicament).


Conditions où on peut noter de l'urticaire

L’anaphylaxie, qui est une forme sévère d’hypersensibilité, à laquelle l’urticaire et l’angioedème sont très souvent associés. L'urticaire dans une réaction anaphylactique est aigue, se développant rapidement suivant l'exposition à un déclencheur potentiel.

La mastocytose, qui est une maladie des mastocytes, les cellules responsables de l’urticaire et de l’anaphylaxie.

Les maladies inflammatoires systémiques (auto-immunes telles le lupus, vasculites ou auto-inflammatoires) sont associées à d’autres manifestations comme de l’arthrite, de la photosensibilité, un syndrome de Raynaud, et des atteintes d’organes (rein, foie, poumons…).


Angioedème médiée par la bradykinine (sans urticaire)

angioedema
L'angioedème

Enfin il y a les formes d’angioedème sans urticaire, médiées par la bradykinine et non l’histamine, qui s’installent plus lentement (en quelques heures), qui évoluent sur plusieurs jours, et qui peuvent atteindre le tube digestif; elles ne répondent pas aux traitements habituels des formes d’urticaire médiées par l’histamine, tels les antihistaminiques H1, la cortisone et même l’adrénaline utilisée en cas d’œdème laryngé.

Elles sont souvent secondaires à la prise de certains médicaments, tels les IECA (inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion de l’angiotensine), les BRA (bloqueurs des récepteurs de l’angiotensine), ou l’altéplase (utilisée en thrombolyse).

Moins fréquemment elles sont dues à un déficit d’un facteur du complément, le C1 estérase inhibiteur, déficit qui peut être génétique, ou acquis; il existe aussi de rares cas de formes héréditaires non liées à un déficit en C1 estérase inhibiteur. Toutes ces formes d’angioedème sont aggravées par les oestrogènes (anovulants, hormones de ménopause) qu’il faut alors éviter. Ces formes d’angioedème sont mieux diagnostiquées et gérées par un spécialiste en allergie et immunologie.


Traitement de l'urticaire


Urticaire aigue

Le premier traitement de l’urticaire aigue est d’éviter le déclencheur, quand il s’agit d’urticaire allergique ou inductible. En cas d’angioedème pharyngo laryngé, l’adrénaline (l'épinéphrine) peut être utilisée. Sinon les antihistaminiques H1 de seconde génération (non sédatifs) pris au besoin ou de façon régulière sont la première étape du traitement pharmacologique; si le contrôle n’est pas adéquat, on peut en augmenter la dose jusqu’à 4 fois la dose habituelle. Occasionnellement les corticostéroïdes peuvent être utilisés pour une courte période.

On essaie d’éviter les antihistaminiques H1 de première génération (diphénhydramine, hydroxyzine, chlorphéniramine, péractine) à cause de leurs effets secondaires tels la somnolence (facultés affaiblies), la perturbation de la mémoire, la sécheresse des muqueuses, l’augmentation de l’appétit.

Urticaire chronique spontanée

Ici aussi les antihistaminiques H1 non sédatifs pris au besoin ou de façon régulière sont la première étape du traitement pharmacologique; si le contrôle n’est pas adéquat, on peut en augmenter la dose jusqu’à 4 fois la dose habituelle. La majorité des patients vont répondre à ces traitements de façon favorable.

On essaie le plus possible d‘éviter les corticostéroïdes à cause de leurs nombreux effets secondaires. L’ajout du montélukast peut parfois aider à contrôler une urticaire rebelle aux hautes doses d’antihistaminiques H1.

Si on a peu de succès avec ces traitements, on peut passer à une étape plus spécialisée, avec l’ajout de l’omalizumab (agent biologique), qui est souvent efficace dans les cas d’urticaire rebelle. Enfin si nécessaire on peut y ajouter des immunosuppresseurs, tel la cyclosporine en particulier, ou d’autres.

Urticaire inductible

Il s’agit d’en identifier le déclencheur et de l’éviter; les antihistaminiques H1 peuvent aussi offrir une certaine protection en cas d’exposition au déclencheur.

Autres formes d’urticaire et d’angioedème

Celles-ci doivent être distinguées des formes d’urticaire aigue et chronique spontanée, afin d’être traitées de la bonne façon. Leurs traitements varient selon la maladie en cause.


__________________________

André Caron, MD FRCPC, allergologue et immunologue

révisé 1/4/2018
Il s’agit d’une mise à jour de la précédente version écrite par les Dr Guérin Dorval et Dr John Weisnagel (photos urticaire/dermographisme).