AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

COVID-19 vaccination and allergies

Now that large scale vaccination against COVID has started, some people known to have allergies are wondering if it’s safe to get vaccinated. Although at the beginning of the vaccine campaign in the United Kingdom a recommendation was made to not vaccinate people having severe allergies, this contraindication was removed after analyzing the cases of people having had an allergic reaction to the vaccine. What’s more, even if it seems that vaccination against COVID-19 causes allergic reactions more frequently than other vaccines, the risk remains very low – 11.1 cases of anaphylaxis per million doses, in comparison with 1.3 per million doses for the flu vaccine.

At this moment, concerning allergies, the only contraindication to receiving COVID-19 vaccines is an allergy to their components. The vaccines approved at this moment (Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna, AstraZeneca and Janssen) don’t contain food or animal proteins, antibiotics, preservatives or latex.

People suffering from food allergies, even serious ones, respiratory allergies (including asthma), insect allergy, antibiotic allergy or an allergy to anti-inflammatories such as aspirin or ibuprofen, an allergy to latex or to anesthetics can receive the vaccines against COVID-19. The same is true for people suffering from chronic urticaria or angioedema.

Only people with a history of allergy to polyethylene glycol (PEG) should be evaluated by an allergist before receiving a vaccine. PEG is found in many laxatives (eg, Lax-A-Day, RestoroLAX) and in several laxative preparations given prior to a colonoscopy (such as Colyte, golytely, Klean-Prep ou Peglyte ). People having had allergic reactions to these products should consult an allergist before receiving any of the currently approved COVID vaccines.

People with a history of immediate allergy (less than an hour after administration) to vaccines containing polysorbate (including flu vaccines) do not need to consult with an allergist and can be vaccinated at vaccination centres. They will receive the Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna vaccines, since the Janssen and AstraZeneca vaccines contain polysorbate. The observation period after vaccination will be lengthened from 15 to 30 minutes.

People having had an immediate reaction (less than one hour) after receiving a COVID-19 vaccine, or those having a severe reaction in the 24 hours following vaccination must be directed to Public Health for further evaluation.

Note that people who have an autoimmune disease or an immunodeficiency can receive the vaccines approved in Canada against COVID-19. However, it’s possible the COVID-19 vaccines will be less effective in immunosuppressed people. This includes people who suffer from an immunodeficiency or in whom their immune system is weakened by certain medications or illnesses.


Here are links (in French and English) providing the complete list of components of different vaccines against COVID-19:
https://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/professionnels/vaccination/piq-vaccins/covid-19-vaccin-a-arn-messager-contre-la-covid-19/

Recommendations of the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI) concerning allergies:
https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/immunization/national-advisory-committee-on-immunization-naci/recommendations-use-covid-19-vaccines.html#t3

__________________________

Marie-Noel Primeau, MD
(translation by Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

révisé 12/5/2021

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Vaccination COVID-19 et allergies

Maintenant que la vaccination à grande échelle contre la COVID a débuté, plusieurs personnes allergiques se demandent s’il est risqué pour elles de se faire vacciner. Quoiqu'au tout début de la campagne de vaccination en Grande-Bretagne, une recommandation a été émise de ne pas vacciner les personnes ayant des allergies graves, cette contre-indication a été enlevée à la suite de l’analyse des cas des personnes ayant eu une réaction allergique au vaccin. De plus, même s’il semble que les vaccins contre la COVID 19 entrainent des réactions allergiques plus fréquemment que les autres vaccins, le risque demeure très faible soit 11,1 cas d’anaphylaxie par million de doses, en comparaison avec 1,3 par million de doses pour le vaccin de la grippe.

En ce moment, en ce qui concerne les allergies, la seule contre-indication à recevoir les vaccins contre la COVID 19 est une allergie à une de leurs composantes. Les vaccins approuvés en ce moment (Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna, AstraZeneca et Janssen) ne contiennent pas de protéine alimentaire ou animale, pas d’antibiotique, pas de préservatif ni de latex.

Les personnes souffrant d’allergies alimentaires, même graves, d’allergies respiratoires (incluant l’asthme), d’allergie aux insectes, d’allergie aux antibiotiques ou aux anti-inflammatoires tels que l’aspirine ou l’ibuprofène, d’allergie au latex ou aux anesthésiants peuvent recevoir les vaccins contre la COVID-19. Il en est de même pour les personnes souffrant d’urticaire chronique ou d’angioœdème.

Seules les personnes avec une histoire d’allergie au polyéthylène glycol (PEG) doivent être évaluées en allergie avant de recevoir le vaccin. Le PEG se retrouve dans plusieurs laxatifs (ex Lax-A-Day, RestoroLAX) et dans plusieurs préparations laxatives données en prévision d’une coloscopie (tel que Colyte, golytely, Klean-Prep ou Peglyte ). Les personnes ayant fait des réactions allergiques à ces produits devaient consulter un allergologue avant de recevoir les vaccins contre la COVID-19 approuvés à ce jour.

Les personnes avec une histoire d’allergie immédiate (moins d’une heure après l’administration) à des vaccins anti-infectieux contenant du polysorbate (incluant les vaccins antigrippaux) n’ont pas besoin de consulter un allergologue et peuvent se faire vacciner dans les centres de vaccination. Ils recevront les vaccins Pfizer-BioNTech ou Moderna, puisque les vaccins Janssen et AstraZeneca contiennent du polysorbate. La période d’observation après la vaccination sera prolongée, soit trente minutes plutôt que quinze.

Les personnes ayant eu une réaction immédiate (en moins d’une heure) après avoir reçu un vaccin contre la COVID-19, ou ceux ayant fait une réaction sévère dans les 24 heures suivant la vaccination doivent être signalées à la Santé publique pour une évaluation.

À noter que les personnes ayant des maladies auto-immunes et les déficits immunitaires peuvent recevoir les vaccins approuvés au Canada contre la COVID 19. Cependant, il est possible que les vaccins contre la COVID 19 fonctionnent moins bien chez les personnes immunodéprimées. Ceci inclut les personnes qui souffrent d’un déficit immunitaire ou chez qui le système immunitaire est affaibli par la prise de médicament ou par une maladie.


Voici les liens pour avoir la liste complète des composants des différents vaccins contre la COVID-19:
https://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/professionnels/vaccination/piq-vaccins/covid-19-vaccin-a-arn-messager-contre-la-covid-19/

Recommandations du Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI) concernant les allergies:
https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/immunisation/comite-consultatif-national-immunisation-ccni/recommandations-utilisation-vaccins-covid-19.html#t3

__________________________

Marie-Noel Primeau, MD

révisé 12/05/2021