AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Vaccine Allergy

As with all medication or biological products, people can be allergic to certain vaccines.

Immediate Reactions

Immediate allergic reactions or anaphylaxis to vaccines are rare. These reactions usually start within minutes following the vaccination and are characterized by the same symptoms as immediate reactions to other allergens; skin manifestations (urticaria, swelling, itching), respiratory manifestations (cough, difficulty breathing, wheezing) and a reduction in blood pressure (weakness, loss of consciousness). If a significant immediate allergic reaction is suspected, it must be treated rapidly with epinephrine. It is important that the person suffering from the allergic reaction ultimately be referred to an allergist. Most of the time, allergy testing can confirm the allergy to the vaccine, and the resulting information can be very helpful for future vaccination. In general, most patients allergic to one vaccine in particular can receive other vaccinations without problems.

Late Reactions

When symptoms might be due to an allergy (for example urticaria, redness, itching) but follow several hours or days after having received the vaccination, it is unlikely to be a true allergy to the vaccine.

Local Reactions

Sometimes vaccines can cause important local reactions that begin in the hours following the vaccination or even the next day. The site of vaccination (usually the arm) can become inflamed, red, and painful. The reaction can last several days. Although these reactions can be quite alarming, they are not typically representative of an acute allergic reaction. There is generally no risk of an immediate allergic reaction with the next vaccination. Consultation with an allergist is not necessary. Vaccines containing the booster DT (diphtheria, tetanus) are more often associated with this kind of reaction.

Egg Allergy

Certain vaccines use egg embryos during the manufacturing process and so are administered with caution to individuals allergic to eggs. The seasonal flu vaccine contains a minimal quantity of egg protein. The majority of egg allergic individuals can receive this vaccine without an allergic reaction. Depending on the severity of the allergic reaction to eggs, the vaccine can be administered in one or several doses with a prolonged observation time. Previously this vaccine was administered by allergists or in a hospital setting, but due to accumulating evidence of only a very low risk when administered to egg-allergic patients, since 2011 these precautions are no longer obligatory. See also the most recent recommendations put forth by a consensus among university allergists in Québec (French version).

The vaccine against yellow fever, required when travelling to certain countries also contains egg protein. The risk of allergic reaction is higher with this vaccine than it is with the flu vaccine. A consultation with an allergist is necessary in order to evaluate the risk and to proceed with vaccination if possible.

The RRO (or MMR) vaccine (against measles/rougeole, mumps/oreillons and rubella/rubéole ) does not contain a significant quantity of egg protein. It has been known for many years now that this vaccine can be given without particular precautions to egg allergic individuals. An allergy consultation is not necessary and the vaccine can be given in the regular setting for recommended vaccinations.

Des Serres G, Primeau MN. Les allergies aux vaccins, savoir en prendre et en laisser. Le Médecin du Québec 2004; 39 (10): 47-52.

__________________________

Marie-Noel Primeau, MD
(translation by Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

NB : This article is not referring to desensitization or immunotherapy, which is typically prescribed to treat allergies to dust mites, pollens, or wasps, and which is sometimes referred to as "vaccines". This subject is treated in the Respitatory section (Immunotherapy).

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Allergie aux vaccines

Comme tout médicament ou produit biologique, les vaccins peuvent causer des allergies.

Réactions immédiates

Les réactions allergiques de type immédiates ou anaphylactiques aux vaccins sont très rares. Ces réactions vont commencer dans les minutes suivant la vaccination et se caractérisent par les mêmes symptômes que les réactions immédiates dues aux autres allergènes; manifestations cutanées (urticaire, enflures, démangeaisons), manifestations respiratoires (toux, difficulté à respirer, respiration sifflante) et baisse de pression (faiblesse, perte de connaissance). Si une réaction immédiate importante est suspectée, elle doit être traitée rapidement avec de l'épinéphrine. Il est important par la suite que la personne ayant subi la réaction allergique soit recommandée à un allergologue. La plupart du temps, des tests d'allergie pourront confirmer l'allergie au vaccin et des conseils en matière de vaccination seront utiles pour les vaccins subséquents. En effet, la plupart des patients ayant une allergie à un vaccin pourront recevoir d'autres vaccins.

Réactions tardives

Quand des symptômes pouvant être dus à une allergie (par exemple urticaire/rougeurs/démangeaisons) surviennent plusieurs heures ou jours après avoir reçu le vaccin, il est très peu probable qu'une allergie au vaccin en soit la cause.

Réactions locales

Parfois, les vaccins vont causer des réactions locales importantes, pouvant commencer dans les heures suivant la vaccination ou le lendemain. Le membre où le vaccin a été reçu (habituellement le bras) peut devenir enflé, rouge et douloureux. La réaction peut durer plusieurs jours. Quoique ces réactions soient impressionnantes, elles ne sont pas une manifestation d'allergie immédiate. Il n'y a pas de risque de réaction allergique immédiate avec les prochains vaccins. Une consultation avec un allergologue n'est pas nécessaire. Les vaccins contenant un rappel de DT (Diphtérie/Tétanos) sont plus susceptibles de donner ce type de réaction.

Allergie aux œufs

Certains vaccins utilisent des embryons d’œufs dans le processus de fabrication. Ainsi, ces vaccins sont administrés avec certaines précautions chez les individus allergiques aux œufs. Le vaccin contre la grippe saisonnière contient une minime quantité de protéine d’œufs. La majorité des individus allergiques aux œufs peuvent recevoir ce vaccin sans avoir de réaction allergique. Selon la gravité de l’allergie aux œufs, le vaccin sera administré en une ou plusieurs doses avec une observation prolongée. Alors qu’auparavant le vaccin était le plus souvent administré par les allergologues ou en milieu hospitalier, l’accumulation d’évidence sur le faible risque de l’administrer chez les patients allergiques aux œufs a fait que depuis 2011 cette précaution n’est plus obligatoire. Voir aussi le résumé de la plus récente publication des allergologues des centres universitaires du Québec sur ce sujet.

Le vaccin contre la fièvre jaune, requis lorsque l'on voyage dans certains pays, contient aussi des protéines d'œufs. Le risque de réaction allergique est plus important qu'avec le vaccin de la grippe. Une consultation en allergologie est nécessaire pour évaluer le risque et procéder à la vaccination si possible.

Le vaccin RRO (contre rougeole, rubéole, oreillons) ne contient pas une quantité significative de protéine d'œufs. Il a été démontré depuis longtemps qu'il peut être donné, sans précaution particulière, aux individus allergiques aux œufs. Une consultation en allergie n'est pas nécessaire et le vaccin peut être donné dans les milieux de vaccination habituels.

Des Serres G, Primeau MN. Les allergies aux vaccins, savoir en prendre et en laisser. Le Médecin du Québec 2004; 39 (10): 47-52.

__________________________

Marie-Noel Primeau, MD

NB : Cet article ne parle (traite) pas des traitements de désensibilisation ou immunothérapie, prescrits pour le traitement de l'allergie aux acariens, aux pollens ou aux guêpes, qui sont parfois aussi appelés « vaccins ». Ce sujet est traité dans la section Respiratoire (Immunothérapie).