AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Atopic dermatitis

Definition:

Atopic dermatitis, commonly known as eczema, is a skin eruption characterized by the presence of redness, dryness, fissures and itching. It can also be associated with crusting and the seepage of clear liquid.

Epidemiology:

It is a chronic disease characterized by skin inflammation. This condition affects about 15-30% of children and 2-10% of adults..

Atopic dermatitis begins very often in the first few months of life (45% of cases start in the first 6 months). About 60% of children will see their eczema disappear once they reach adolescence. Several of these children remain at risk for episodes during adulthood (50%).

A child with eczema

Atopic dermatitis is part of the triad of atopic diseases: eczema, allergy and asthma. It is often the first problem to appear in what is known as the "atopic march" (followed by food allergies, asthma and allergic rhinitis).

Etiologies:

It is a problem with multifactorial and complex origins. The appearance of atopic dermatitis probably depends on a variety of genetic and environmental components.

Defects at the level of the skin barrier, as well as in the immune system, have both been observed. It is actually thought that there is a series of genetic anomalies affecting the structure and function of the epidermal barrier. The immune system plays a role in the observed inflammatory reaction.

It is important to underline the fact that atopic dermatitis is not actually caused by allergies, even though people suffering from this condition are at greater risk for developing other atopic conditions such as allergies or asthma. The same people can even see worsening of their atopic dermatitis if they subsequently develop allergies and are exposed to these allergens.

Diagnosis:

There is no specific test available for diagnosing atopic dermatitis. The doctor will rely on this diagnosis through the patient's history and skin examination. On questioning, there is the presence of a skin eruption causing itching. In fact, itching is always present in a child suffering from atopic dermatitis. In the young child unable of complaining that "it itches", parents will often still witness rubbing or scratching.

Some other elements that contribute to the diagnosis of atopic dermatitis are the presence of allergic diseases (asthma, allergic rhinitis, food allergies) in the patient themselves or a close family member. Finally, the diagnosis rests on the bodily distribution of the skin eruption. Usually in the young child, atopic dermatitis affects the cheeks and the face, but can also be found on the arms, legs and torso, rarely the buttocks. With aging, an affected patient will often see the rash appear on the folds of the elbows and behind the knees, and even the wrists and ankles; in the adult, both hands and feet can also be affected.

Management and treatment:

It must first be appreciated that atopic dermatitis is a chronic disease and that its management relies on care and treatment over the long term.

The importance of skin hydration

One element of the treatment is based on skin hydration. Using a mild, non-perfumed soap in short daily baths of lukewarm water in addition to generous and regular application of a moisturizing cream are at the heart of the management of atopic dermatitis. More recently, studies have demonstrated that creams containing ceramides can help in the process of skin repair.

For areas that are red and more affected, a cream or ointment with a corticosteroid base is often prescribed and must be applied before the moisturizing cream at a frequency prescribed by the treating physician. If different areas are affected, the physician might prescribe corticosteroid creams of differing concentrations. Another category of medication prescribed is the topical calcineurin inhibitors (Protopic® or Elidel®) which are often used as second-line agents.

It is difficult to perfectly control the itching associated with atopic dermatitis. An antihistamine, such as diphenhydramine (Bénadryl®) or hydroxyzine (Atarax®) can occasionally be helpful..

Because of the breakdown of the skin caused by eczematous lesions and by scratching, the skin of a patient with atopic dermatitis is more at risk for infection. If it is ever noted that the skin becomes redder, warmer, and in the presence of a suspicious drainage, then consultation with a physician is recommended.

Even though this is a chronic disease, it must be noted that atopic dermatitis often becomes much less severe with age in many children.

__________________________

Simon Hotte, MD FRCPC
Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC
(translation Andrew Moore, MD FRCPC)

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Dermatite atopique

Définition :

La dermatite atopique, aussi communément appelé eczéma, consiste en une éruption cutanée qui se décrit comme des rougeurs, de la sècheresse, des fissures et des démangeaisons. Il peut aussi il y avoir présence de croutes et d’un suintement de liquide clair.

Épidémiologie :

C’est une maladie chronique caractérisée par une inflammation de la peau. Cette condition affecte environ 15-30% des enfants et 2-10% des adultes.

La dermatite atopique débute très souvent dans les premiers mois de vie (45% des cas débutent dans les 6 premiers mois de vie). Environ soixante pourcent des enfants auront vu leur eczéma disparaître au moment où ils atteindront l’adolescence. Plusieurs de ces enfants demeureront à risque d’avoir des épisodes à l’âge adulte (50%).

Un enfant avec eczéma

La dermatite atopique fait partie de la triade des maladies atopiques : eczéma, allergie, asthme. Il s’agit souvent du premier problème à survenir dans ce que nous appelons la marche atopique (suivi par la suite des allergies alimentaires, l’asthme et la rhinite allergique).

Étiologies :

Il s’agit d’un problème ayant des origines multifactorielles complexes. L’apparition d’une dermatite atopique dépend probablement d’un mélange de composantes génétiques et environnementales.

On observe une défectuosité au niveau de la barrière de la peau et une implication du système immunitaire. On croit actuellement qu’il y aurait des anomalies génétiques affectant la structure et la fonction de la barrière épidermique. Le système immunitaire serait pour sa part responsable de la réaction inflammatoire observée.

Il est important de souligner que la dermatite atopique n’est pas causée par des allergies. Toutefois les gens souffrant de cette condition ont plus de risques de souffrir d’une autre condition atopique telle que les allergies ou l’asthme. Ces mêmes patients peuvent aussi voir leur dermatite atopique s’aggraver s’ils développent des allergies et qu’ils sont exposés à ces allergènes.

Diagnostic :

Il n’existe pas de test spécifique pour diagnostiquer la dermite atopique. Le médecin pose le diagnostic en se basant sur le questionnaire et l’examen de la peau. Au questionnaire, on retrouve la présence d’une éruption cutanée qui cause de la démangeaison. En fait, la démangeaison est toujours présente chez un patient souffrant de dermite atopique. Chez le jeune enfant qui est incapable de se plaindre que « ça pique », les parents vont souvent observer du frottement ou du grattage.

D’autres éléments qui contribuent au diagnostic de la dermite atopique sont la présence de maladies allergiques (asthme, rhinite allergique, allergie alimentaire) chez le patient ou un parent proche. Finalement, le diagnostic repose aussi sur la distribution corporelle de l’éruption cutanée. En effet, chez le jeune enfant, la dermite atopique touche surtout les joues et le visage mais peut aussi affecter les membres et le tronc, mais rarement les fesses. En vieillissant, un patient atteint va voir l’éruption cutanée toucher surtout les plis des coudes et des genoux ainsi que les chevilles et les poignets; chez l’adulte, les mains et les pieds peuvent aussi être atteints.

Prise en charge et traitement :

Il faut d’abord comprendre que la dermite atopique est une maladie chronique et que sa prise en charge repose sur des précautions et un traitement de longue haleine.

L'importance de l'hydratation de la peau

Un élément clé du traitement repose sur l’hydratation de la peau. L’utilisation d’un savon doux non parfumé lors des courts bains quotidiens à l’eau tiède ainsi que l’application régulière et généreuse d’une crème hydratante sur la peau sont au cœur de la prise en charge de la dermite atopique. Plus récemment, des études ont démontré que des crèmes contenant des céramides pourraient aider le processus de réparation cutanée.

Pour les endroits rouges plus atteints, une crème ou un onguent à base de corticostéroides est souvent prescrite et doit être appliquée avant la crème hydratante selon la fréquence indiquée par le médecin. Selon les endroits touchés, il est possible que le médecin prescrive plusieurs crèmes de corticostéroides de différentes concentrations. Une autre catégorie de médicaments prescrits sont les inhibiteurs topiques de la calcineurine (Protopic® ou Elidel®) qui sont surtout utilisés en deuxième ligne.

Il est difficile de contrôler parfaitement la démangeaison associée avec la dermite atopique. Un antihistaminique comme le diphenhydramine (Bénadryl®) ou l’hydroxyzine (Atarax®) peuvent aider occasionnellement.

À cause du bris de la peau causé par les lésions eczémateuses et par le grattage, la peau d’un patient avec dermite atopique est plus sujette à une surinfection. Si on note que la peau devient plus rouge, chaude et qu’il y a présence d’un écoulement suspect, il est donc recommandé de consulter.

Même s’il s’agit d’une maladie chronique, il est noté que la dermite atopique devient souvent moins sévère avec l’âge chez beaucoup d’enfants.

__________________________

Simon Hotte, MD FRCPC
Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC