AAIQ   The Association of Allergists and Immunologists of Québec

Eosinophilic esophagitis

What is eosinophilic esophagitis?

Eosinophilic esophagitis is an increasingly prevalent disease that is characterized by an inflammation of the esophagus, the organ that brings food from the mouth to the stomach. This inflammation is associated with the presence of eosinophils lining the esophagus. Eosinophils are white blood cells found in many allergic diseases. For example, these cells are often present in the lungs of people suffering from asthma. Certain people actually describe eosinophilic esophagitis as an "asthma of the esophagus".

What are the symptoms of eosinophilic esophagitis?

Symptoms vary among children and adults. Children may present with feeding difficulties, abdominal pain, vomiting and a burning sensation in the stomach whereas adults typically present with difficulty swallowing and/or food obstruction. However, any of these symptoms can present at any age.

Who are those most likely to suffer from eosinophilic esophagitis?

Studies show that this disease mostly affects young men in their thirties, although many cases worldwide have been described in young children and older adults. Moreover, there is often a member of the family who also has eosinophilic esophagitis. Lastly, many patients have additional allergic diseases such as asthma, rhinoconjunctivitis or food allergies.

What are the possible triggers of eosinophilic esophagitis?

In most patients, certain foods are identified as a possible trigger of the disease. The most common food triggers include milk, wheat, egg, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish and shellfish. Recent studies suggest that allergens in the environment (such as tree and grass pollen) may also play an important role in the development of eosinophilic esophagitis.

How does one diagnose eosinophilic esophagitis?

In someone who presents with typical symptoms of the disease (difficulty swallowing, food obstruction, heartburn, abdominal pain, etc), the diagnosis is made by examining the number of eosinophils on a biopsy of tissue taken from the esophagus. This biopsy is done during an endoscopy, which involves placing a camera in the esophagus in order to obtain small samples of tissue. Generally, a medication trial in the proton pump inhibitors class (eg: omeprazole, pantoprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole…) should take place for at least 2 months before a diagnosis of the disease by endoscopy can be made.

What is the treatment of an eosinophilic esophagitis?

Given that eosinophilic esophagitis can result in symptoms of gastro-esophageal reflux, certain people are first treated with medications called proton-pump inhibitors (ex: Pantoloc™, Prevacid™). In order to control the inflammation found in the esophagus, a doctor may prescribe an inhaled cortisone puffer (ex: Flovent™) which is a medication also used in the treatment of asthma. However, since the patient is treating his/her esophagus, he/she must swallow the medicine instead of inhaling it. He/she must also be careful not to eat or drink immediately after taking the medicine. Sometimes, the doctor may identify specific foods that trigger the disease through the use of allergy skin tests or atopy patch tests. In this case, a diet that excludes these foods may be recommended. It is also possible that the doctor recommends from the very start to avoid certain common triggering foods without allergy tests. All forms of diets undertaken in this manner must be under supervision, so as not to cause nutritional deficiencies. Other medications are currently being studied and have not yet been approved for use in this disease.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC

Natacha Tardio, MD FRCPC

révisé 6/7/2017

AAIQ   L'Association des Allergologues et Immunologues du Québec

Oesophagite éosinophilique

Qu'est ce qu'une oesophagite éosinophilique?

L'œsophage est le tube qui mène les aliments de la bouche à l'estomac. On parle d'oesophagite éosinophilique quand l'œsophage est inflammé et que l'on y retrouve beaucoup d'éosinophiles. Les éosinophiles sont des globules blancs associés aux maladies allergiques. Ainsi, ils sont souvent présents dans les poumons chez les gens qui souffrent d'asthme. Certaines personnes qualifient l'oesophagite éosinophilique « d'asthme de l'œsophage ».

Quels sont les symptômes d'une oesophagite éosinophilique?

Une difficulté à avaler avec sensation de blocage lorsqu'on avale accompagnée parfois de réel blocage de la nourriture est souvent décrite. Les autres symptômes comprennent des brûlures d'estomac, des douleurs abdominales et des vomissements. Les jeunes enfants peuvent aussi avoir des problèmes d'alimentation.

Qui sont les personnes les plus souvent atteintes d'oesophagite éosinophilique?

Les études montrent que cette maladie affecte surtout les jeunes hommes dans la vingtaine ou la trentaine, bien que plusieurs cas aient été décrits chez les enfants ainsi que chez des personnes plus âgées. Plusieurs patients ont d'autres maladies allergiques (asthme, rhino-conjonctivite allergique, allergie alimentaire).

Quelles sont les causes possibles d'oesophagite éosinophilique?

Les causes de cette maladie ne sont pas claires. Selon certaines études, les allergies, en particulier les allergies alimentaires, joueraient un rôle.

Comment est-ce qu'on diagnostique une oesophagite éosinophilique?

Comme on ne peut voir les éosinophiles qu'au microscope, un diagnostic ne peut être posé qu'en examinant un morceau de biopsie de l'œsophage chez quelqu'un qui présente des symptômes suggestifs et qui ne répond pas à des traitements pour d'autres maladies telles que le reflux gastro-oesophagien. Généralement, un essai d’un médicament de la classe des inhibiteurs de pompe à protons (ex : omeprazole, pantoprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole…) aura été essayé au moins 2 mois. Une telle biopsie se fait par endoscopie (une caméra est glissée dans l'œsophage et de petits échantillons peuvent être prélevés).

Quels sont les traitements d'une oesophagite éosinophilique?

Comme les symptômes de l'oesophagite éosinophilique sont parfois confondus avec ceux du reflux gastro-oesophagien, certaines personnes sont d'abord traitées avec des médicaments appelés inhibiteurs à pompe à protons (ex : Pantoloc™, Prevacid™). Comme les éosinophiles se retrouvent aussi dans l'asthme, le médecin prescrira parfois des médicaments destinés initialement aux asthmatiques comme de la cortisone inhalée (ex : Flovent™). Dans ce cas, comme on traite l'œsophage, il ne faut pas inhaler le médicament mais l'avaler. Il faut aussi éviter de boire et de manger immédiatement après avoir pris le médicament. Parfois on identifie des allergies alimentaires chez les patients en utilisant des tests cutanés d'allergie. Dans ce cas, on peut recommander d'éviter certains aliments. Il est aussi possible que le le médecin recommande d’emblée d’éviter certains aliments sans tests d’allergie. Toute forme de diète entreprise devrait se faire sous supervision afin de ne pas se retrouver en carence nutritionnelle. D'autres médicaments sont présentement à l'étude.

__________________________

Nha Uyen Nguyen-Luu, MD FRCPC